May 26 Webinar: Focus on Summer


Summer is an optimal time to pilot and tailor strategies that can be taken to scale during the school year. It is also an ideal moment to begin identifying students and families who might need extra support for a successful transition to school in the fall. Join us for webinar #2 of AAC 2021 — Engaged: Using Summer to Connect with Students and Families. Register here!

In this webinar, our four special guest speakers will provide attendees with real-world examples of how they have created summer opportunities for students to socialize with peers, engage through fun educational activities and refresh in-person attendance routines. Each speaker will reflect on how they are handling the challenges brought on by the Covid-19 pandemic.

Kristina Kyles-Smith will discuss her commitment to progressive education and educational equity through her work as the executive director of Two Rivers Public Charter School in Washington D.C. Emily Partin, director of Grundy County Schools Family Resource Center in Tracy City, Tennessee will speak about the center’s commitment to connecting families with resources, support and benefits to help maximize the learning capacity of every child. Aaron Philip Dworkin, CEO of the National Summer Learning Association will share the importance of high-quality summer learning opportunities in closing student achievement and opportunity gaps.

Our co-host Kwesi Rollins, vice president for Leadership and Engagement at the Institute for Educational Leadership, will touch upon his work supporting educational leaders through their implementation of programs to build connections with families and communities. Hedy Chang, executive director of Attendance Works, will show how schools, districts, public agencies and community partners can use their attendance and participation data to tailor summer programming, and use Covid-19 recovery funding to support summer programs.

As education leaders across the United States begin their recovery planning, our 2021 Attendance Awareness Campaign urges them to Rebound with Attendance! This looks like promoting attendance in the spring, establishing good attendance habits over the summer and amplifying engagement efforts during the fall.

Join the conversation at 11am-12:30pm PT | 12-1:30pm MT | 1-2:30pm CT | 2-3:30pm ET. Register today!